MemoWiki can be run as
- an anonymous Wiki – any client can connect to the server, and
the user is not identified in any way. This is the default setup
(when MemoWiki is first installed), and is ideal for a Wiki which
is only going to be accessed on a local laptop or desktop, etc.
- a user-login Wiki – anyone who uses the Wiki must first ‘login’
with a user name and password. It is strongly recommended that any
MemoWiki on the Internet requires user-login.
An anonymous Wiki is converted to a user-login Wiki simply by adding
a first user (using the Add User selection from
the more... page – remember to make a note of the password).
Once the first user is created then from then on access to the Wiki
will require login. Any user local to (on the same machine as) the
MemoWiki server can add new users.
Login requires browser cookies to be enabled » and persists for the browser session or (if ‘remember
me’ is selected on login) will be saved on the user’s machine indefinitely.
User names must start with an alphabetic character. A user can change
his or her user name at any time to a different name (as long as
it is not already in use, of course).
When a user is first created a password is generated by MemoWiki
and must be used for the initial login. Once logged-in you can change
your password from the more...
Some aspects of MemoWiki operation can be changed on a per-user basis;
choose User preferences
on the more...
Optionally, MemoWiki users can have a ‘User page’ which can be edited
as required. User pages are held in a topic called Users; an initial
user page for a user can be created automatically when the user is
added (this will create the Users topic, too, if necessary).
If two users edit a page at the same time (or one users edit a page
in two different windows) then when the second save of the page takes
place MemoWiki will detect the conflict and warn the second user
that he or she has overridden some change(s) (the first user could
be long gone). The second user is automatically shown the History page
, with an appropriate message.
The History page flags any overridden version (and these have to
be deleted deliberately – they will not be automatically cleaned).
- All users can see and edit all pages in topics to which they have
- Administrators can also:
- Carry out all actions (edit, publish, etc.) on read-only topics
- Add new Topics
- Publish a topic to its web server
- Rename topics to which they have access (via renaming the home
- Add new Users and edit user settings (permissions)
- See (but not apply changes to) server maintenance pages (GoServe
- Clear all caches on a server
- Locals (users on the same machine as the server) can also:
- Use the server maintenance pages and controls and change settings
- Use More... Explore to directly access server files and data (on